online safety

protect your location
 

Many teens and even adults are unaware of how much information their phone’s location settings can reveal. When they post a picture on social media from their phone, they may be revealing their exact location to a complete stranger—even when that photo isn’t geotagged.

 

For some, location tracking can be convenient. It helps apps like Google Maps and car2go deliver their services accurately. But for other apps, it can be unnecessarily invasive. Here’s how you can disable your location services for these apps:

Apple iPhone or iPad

Go into your phone’s Settings tab, and select Privacy. From there, select Location Services. You’ll see a list of apps that use location services. You can choose to disable them all by moving the slider at the top, or disable location services only for specific apps, like Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, etc.

Android

 

Open the App Drawer, go into Settings, select Location, and then enter Google Location Settings. Here, you can turn off Location Reporting and Location History. Location Reporting feeds your location data to various apps, while Location History stores your whereabouts for future use in searches and software like Google Now. You can also delete your entire location history by selecting “Delete Location History” below Location History.

Social Media

For instructions on how to remove your location from existing photos you’ve already posted on social media, click on the links below:

 

Instagram

Facebook

Twitter

Snapchat

CALL US:

(604) 777-7510

1 (877) 551-6611

FIND US:

208-1130 Austin Avenue

Coquitlam, BC V3K 3P5

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle